Poetry

Future Unconditional

8ec565977486fbb741549656a5598127

After the supper dishes, let us start
where we left off, my knees between your knees,
half in the window seat. O let me, please,
hands in your hair, drink in your mouth. Sweetheart
your body is a text I need the art
to be constructed by. I halfway kneel
to your lap, propped by your thighs, and feel
burning my hand, your privacy, your part
armour underwear. This time I’ll loose
each button from its hole, I’ll find the hook,
release promised abundance to this want,
while your hands, please, here and here, exigent
and certain, open this; it is, this book,
made for your hands to read, your mouth to use.

Marilyn Hacker

2 thoughts on “Future Unconditional

Leave a Reply

